Below is information we have gathered on appointments to the Minister Responsible for the Women's Directorate position. If there is a related title, we've included that at the bottom. This information has been compiled from Hansards, NWT Gazettes and previous press releases.

If you spot any omissions/mistakes please let us know!


AssemblyStart DateEnd Date
Jim Antoine 14th Assembly 2001.10.24 2001.11.01
Jane Groenewegen 14th Assembly 2000.01.25 2001.10.24
Charles Dent 13th Assembly 1999.03.27 2000.01.19
Manitok Thompson 13th Assembly 1995.11.28 1999.03.26
John Ningark 12th Assembly 1991.11.22 1992.06.22

Related Roles

Assembly Start Date End Date

Minister Responsible for the Status of Women

Nellie Cournoyea 12th Assembly 1992.06.09 1995.05.04
Dennis Patterson 12th Assembly 1992.06.22 1992.07.09
Stephen Kakfwi 12th Assembly 1995.05.04 1995.11.22
Michael Miltenberger 14th Assembly 2001.11.01 2001.11.07
Stephen Kakfwi 14th Assembly 2001.11.07 2003.12.11
Charles Dent 15th Assembly 2003.12.15 2007.10.18
Sandy Lee 16th Assembly 2007.10.22 2011.03.26
Michael Miltenberger 16th Assembly 2011.03.28 2011.04.08
Floyd Roland 16th Assembly 2011.04.08 2011.10.27
Caroline Cochrane 18th Assembly 2015.12.23 2019.10.25
Diane Archie 19th Assembly 2019.11.08 2020.07.23
Caroline Wawzonek 19th Assembly 2020.07.23