Below is information we have gathered on appointments to the Minister of Education, Culture and Employment position. If there is a related title, we've included that at the bottom. This information has been compiled from Hansards, NWT Gazettes and previous press releases.

If you spot any omissions/mistakes please let us know!


AssemblyStart DateEnd Date
R.J. Simpson 19th Assembly 2019.11.08
Caroline Cochrane 18th Assembly 2018.04.04 2019.10.25
Alfred Moses 18th Assembly 2015.12.23 2018.04.04
Jackson Lafferty 17th Assembly 2011.11.02 2015.12.17
Jackson Lafferty 16th Assembly 2007.10.22 2011.10.27
Charles Dent 15th Assembly 2003.12.15 2007.10.18
Jake Ootes 14th Assembly 2000.01.25 2003.12.11
Michael Miltenberger 13th Assembly 1999.03.30 2000.01.19
Charles Dent 13th Assembly 1995.11.28 1999.03.30
Richard Nerysoo 12th Assembly 1992.12.10 1995.11.22
Stephen Kakfwi 12th Assembly 1992.12.01 1992.12.10

Related Roles

Assembly Start Date End Date

Minister of Education

Dennis Patterson 11th Assembly 1987.11.13 1988.04.25
Stephen Kakfwi 11th Assembly 1988.04.25 1991.11.14
Titus Allooloo 12th Assembly 1991.11.22 1992.07.09
James Arvaluk 12th Assembly 1992.07.09 1992.12.01